AirNav RadarBox
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 


Author Topic: Setting up a flight stick  (Read 1267 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Flying Fred

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Setting up a flight stick
« on: January 02, 2021, 03:27:21 PM »
Ok I have the drivers for Windows 10, I have the antenna outside up 10 feet above the ground; I am located 50 miles from KDTW; I have the program AirNav Radarbox 6.0; have an aircraft spotter account; and still not tracking any aircraft. Do I need anything else? I thought the flight stick and software was all I need. You Tube wasn't any help in setting up the flight stick. I am about ready to return the antenna and dongle. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
Also, I have the message "hardware not connected". Reinstalled drivers still no connection.
« Last Edit: January 02, 2021, 04:53:35 PM by Flying Fred »

Runway 31

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 31881
Re: Setting up a flight stick
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2021, 05:09:06 PM »
Fred

You dont need to start a new thread each time, stick to the one thread, makes things easier

I note that you state "I Have installed the drivers for W10", ignoring the advice that I gave on the other thread.   You need to download and install the specific Flightstick drivers http://www.airnavsystems.com/Download/ANRB/Drivers/microRadarbox-Drivers-20150411.exe

Please note that these are not the same as the W10 drivers you mentioned which are for the original legacy box but the drivers specifically for the flight stick.  If you have not downloaded and installed them please do so.  Just click on the link above

Give them time to install, wait until the command DOS box disappears

Alan
« Last Edit: January 02, 2021, 05:53:45 PM by Runway 31 »

Flying Fred

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Setting up a flight stick
« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2021, 07:27:35 PM »
Ok Alan, I did everything, still no tracking. I am still getting " not connected" message even thought my flight is lit. Yes the usb ports are good. I don't know what else I need to do. This is getting too hard. I thought this would be alternative to going online to watch tracking is should not be this hard. Any other suggestions before I take down my antenna and return it.
 

Runway 31

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 31881
Re: Setting up a flight stick
« Reply #3 on: January 02, 2021, 08:46:09 PM »
The stick is normally easy to install and run and users dont normally have any issues.  The flight stick drivers are a derivative of the Zadig drivers that you can download and install from https://zadig.akeo.ie/

Try installing them, if you need any advice let me know and i will try and assist you further

I take it you closed down the software, restarted and logged in again, the stick drivers should be in the radarbox/drivers folder as per the attached shot.  Can you confirm they are there

Alan
« Last Edit: January 02, 2021, 09:03:09 PM by Runway 31 »

abcd567

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 580
  • CYYZ - Toronto
Re: Setting up a flight stick
« Reply #4 on: January 03, 2021, 01:07:10 AM »
(1) Download Zadig.exe from http://zadig.akeo.ie/ .

(2) Plug the Dongle (FlightStick or ProStick or DVB-T) in your Windows Computer.

(3) Follow the steps below:

Double click Zadig.exe to run it.
The window below will open.

.

On main menu, click “Options”.
On the drop-down, place a check mark beside “List All Devices”.


.

From list of devices, select “RTL2838” which is actually DVB-T or FlightStick or ProStick.
Now click button which will either say “Install Driver” or “Reinstall Driver”


.
.


Flying Fred

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Setting up a flight stick
« Reply #5 on: January 03, 2021, 04:45:48 PM »
Alan, the RTL2838 doesn't show on the list of devices, just a Broadcom USH. I guess this is the end of the road. There must be a bug in the software preventing my laptop from seeing the device, even though it is plugged in and lit. Or it's windows 10 not seeing the device.  I guess I will return the antenna and flight stick since I can't get the software to work with my laptop and flight stick. There must be some type of incompatibly issue with windows 10 and the drivers that's the only thing I can thing of at this stage. Thank you for all your help.

Runway 31

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 31881
Re: Setting up a flight stick
« Reply #6 on: January 03, 2021, 06:46:55 PM »
I wouldnt think that will be the case, pity there isnt somebody near you that knows about computers its only a 5 minute job to get them up and running

The Zadig software sees everything connected on the computer and it is very unusual for any laptop to have only one device so I can only presume you are doing something wrong.  Nnfortunately at a distance I can help any further.  I presume you looked down the drop down list to see the other devices.

Maybe support will be able to assist, drop them an email

Cheers

Alan
« Last Edit: January 03, 2021, 06:49:36 PM by Runway 31 »