anything
AirNav RadarBox
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 


Author Topic: How to feed RadarBox MLAT to VRS  (Read 1890 times)

0 Members and 4 Guests are viewing this topic.

struart

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
How to feed RadarBox MLAT to VRS
« on: September 23, 2019, 08:53:08 PM »
Hello
On what port rbfeeder(on rpi) feeds mlat data in beast so i can add this to see planes in VRS (i can do it with adsbexchange/piaware mlats by --results best,LISTEN,PORT)

abcd567

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 323
  • CYYZ - Toronto
Re: How to feed RadarBox MLAT to VRS
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2019, 09:43:09 PM »
I am not sure, but as far as I know, RB24 does not feed back mlat calculated results to RPi feeders.

Flightaware and Adsbexchange do feed back their mlat calculation results to RPi on port 30104. The dump1090 makes these results available at port 30106 for use by VRS.
« Last Edit: September 23, 2019, 09:46:19 PM by abcd567 »

struart

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: How to feed RadarBox MLAT to VRS
« Reply #2 on: September 24, 2019, 11:00:11 AM »
Yeah i know about FlightAware and adsbexchange but i wanted to get rb24 feed because some planes from here arent detected by other mlats.

But if thats true that theres no feedback to rpi i can live without them :)

abcd567

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 323
  • CYYZ - Toronto
Re: How to feed RadarBox MLAT to VRS
« Reply #3 on: February 17, 2020, 10:49:44 PM »
Yes it is possible now.

Credits: denzen
https://forum.adsb.in/f50/cervis-radarbox24-com-beta-testirovanie-1103/index22.html#post48131

Edit this line in /etc/rbfeeder.ini:

Original Line:
#mlat_cmd=/usr/bin/python3.5 /usr/bin/mlat-client

After Editing:
Note: Dont forget to remove # at start of the original line

For Raspbian Stretch:
mlat_cmd=/usr/bin/python3.5 /usr/bin/mlat-client --results beast,listen,30007

For Raspbian Buster:
mlat_cmd=/usr/bin/python3.7 /usr/bin/mlat-client --results beast,listen,30007



Code: [Select]
sudo nano /etc/rbfeeder.ini

Quote

[client]
network_mode=true
log_file=/var/log/rbfeeder.log

key=xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

sn=EXTRPI000035

lat=43.5xxxxxx
lon=-79.6xxxxx
alt=155

sat_used=0
sat_visible=0

[network]
mode=beast
external_port=30005
external_host=127.0.0.1

[mlat]
autostart_mlat=true
mlat_cmd=/usr/bin/python3.7 /usr/bin/mlat-client --results beast,listen,30007

[dump978]
#dump978_enabled=true





Code: [Select]
sudo systemctl restart rbfeeder


Code: [Select]

netcat 127.0.0.1 30007

111111  3▒MLAT▒▒̐5▒C▒▒▒]3▒MLAT▒▒̐5▒▒▒X▒v▒▒3▒MLAT▒▒̐5▒@▒▒   ▒-I3▒MLAT▒▒̐5▒▒
                                                              X▒▒▒$3▒MLAT▒▒̐5▒>b▒▒I▒3▒MLAT▒▒̐5▒▒X▒▒̖3▒MLAT▒▒̐5Q<▒▒▒L▒▒3▒MLAT▒▒̐5T▒▒X▒-▒▒3▒MLAT▒▒̐51<d▒"6▒3▒MLAT▒▒̐54▒▒X▒▒3▒MLAT▒▒̐5▒▒X▒K:▒3▒MLAT▒▒̐1▒8
▒▒ u3▒MLAT▒▒̐1▒_X▒▒3▒MLAT▒▒̐158▒▒l▒3▒MLAT▒▒̐1▒▒Y5▒p▒3▒MLAT▒▒̐/▒4▒▒▒▒T3▒MLAT▒▒̐/▒1Y3 ▒3▒MLAT▒▒̐/▒4>▒▒▒3▒MLAT▒▒̐/Է▒Y)26j3▒MLAT▒▒̐/▒4
▒▒Q     3▒MLAT▒▒̐/ķsY3▒WL3▒MLAT▒▒̐/A1▒▒^▒▒3▒MLAT▒▒̐/D▒/YFM▒3▒MLAT▒▒̐/1h▒<▒3▒MLAT▒▒̐/▒▒YV[▒▒3▒MLAT▒▒̐-▒0▒穳k#3▒MLAT▒▒̐-ĴYX▒▒▒3▒MLAT▒▒̐-Q.▒▒▒`▒^3▒MLAT▒▒̐-T▒YYq{1O3▒MLAT▒▒̐+▒.▒ݺ▒3▒MLAT▒▒̐+▒Y▒▒▒3▒MLAT▒▒̐+q,v▒▒t▒3▒MLAT▒▒̐+t▒▒Y▒▒▒▒3▒MLAT▒▒̐+A+T▒▒Z3▒MLAT▒▒̐+D▒▒Y▒▒w3▒MLAT▒▒̐)▒*Z▒▒Y243▒MLAT▒▒̐)ԭ▒Y▒t▒N3▒MLAT▒▒̐)▒)▒▒m▒(3▒MLAT▒▒̐)▒▒EY▒:os3▒MLAT▒▒̐'▒&▒▒g▒3▒MLAT▒▒̐'䪓Y▒-▒3▒MLAT▒▒̐'▒'▒*>a▒3▒MLAT▒▒̐'Ԫ▒Y▒~R▒11^C





« Last Edit: February 19, 2020, 01:31:21 AM by abcd567 »

nigelj65

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: How to feed RadarBox MLAT to VRS
« Reply #4 on: February 22, 2020, 04:50:24 PM »
Hi, am I missing a step if I get a an error message connection cannot be made with these settings, the target machine actively refused it. IP address and port are correct and SSH is enabled. Thanks

abcd567

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 323
  • CYYZ - Toronto
Re: How to feed RadarBox MLAT to VRS
« Reply #5 on: February 22, 2020, 06:23:19 PM »
nigelj65

(1) What are outputs of following commands:
Code: [Select]
cat /etc/os-release 

apt-cache policy mlat-client 

apt-cache policy python3.5

apt-cache policy python3.7

(2) What is output of this command?
Wait few minutes if initially there is no output.
If there is lot of output (strange characters), stop it by pressing Ctrl and c keys simultaneously.

Code: [Select]
netcat 127.0.0.1 30007
« Last Edit: February 22, 2020, 06:32:34 PM by abcd567 »

nigelj65

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: How to feed RadarBox MLAT to VRS
« Reply #6 on: February 22, 2020, 08:34:11 PM »
Hello abc,

attached is the output. Thanks for the help.

Just noticed on the RB24 feeder page MLAT is no longer running or even available as an option to configure through the website??

Nigel

« Last Edit: February 22, 2020, 09:16:27 PM by nigelj65 »

abcd567

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 323
  • CYYZ - Toronto
Re: How to feed RadarBox MLAT to VRS
« Reply #7 on: February 22, 2020, 09:10:33 PM »
You installed software is OK:
OS = Raspbian Buster
mlat-client = ver 0.2.11
python = ver 3.7

Problem seems in settings of rbfeeder.
Please post output of following command (remove sharing key before posting):

Code: [Select]
cat /etc/rbfeeder.ini

nigelj65

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: How to feed RadarBox MLAT to VRS
« Reply #8 on: February 22, 2020, 09:26:02 PM »
rbfeeder.ini attached

MLAT seems to have stopped working all together?

abcd567

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 323
  • CYYZ - Toronto
Re: How to feed RadarBox MLAT to VRS
« Reply #9 on: February 23, 2020, 12:29:46 AM »
rbfeeder.ini attached

MLAT seems to have stopped working all together?

In the line below, you have not left any space between mlat-client and --results.
Code: [Select]
mlat_cmd=/usr/bin/python3.7 /usr/bin/mlat-client--results beast,listen,30007


Add a space so it becomes like this:
Code: [Select]
mlat_cmd=/usr/bin/python3.7 /usr/bin/mlat-client --results beast,listen,30007   

Save file rbfeeder.ini
Restart rbfeeder
Code: [Select]
sudo systemctl restart rbfeeder

Now test connection in VRS.

« Last Edit: February 23, 2020, 02:48:58 AM by abcd567 »

nigelj65

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: How to feed RadarBox MLAT to VRS
« Reply #10 on: February 23, 2020, 08:15:49 AM »
Glad it was a typo! MLAT up and running, thanks for all your help.

teesvalley spotter

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: How to feed RadarBox MLAT to VRS
« Reply #11 on: February 24, 2020, 03:57:52 PM »
Hi.

Is it possible to see MLAT returns from the AirNav Micro RadarBox ADS-B Receiver locally using Virtual Radar Server? It's the dongle and antenna kit off Amazon for £14.95 - https://www.amazon.co.uk/AirNav-Micro-RadarBox-ADS-B-Receiver/dp/B01GNGZAIG

Getting adsb via VRS is easy enough to set up just wondering if it's possible with mlat aircraft too?

abcd567

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 323
  • CYYZ - Toronto
Re: How to feed RadarBox MLAT to VRS
« Reply #12 on: February 24, 2020, 05:47:28 PM »
Hi.

Is it possible to see MLAT returns from the AirNav Micro RadarBox ADS-B Receiver locally using Virtual Radar Server? It's the dongle and antenna kit off Amazon for £14.95 - https://www.amazon.co.uk/AirNav-Micro-RadarBox-ADS-B-Receiver/dp/B01GNGZAIG

Getting adsb via VRS is easy enough to set up just wondering if it's possible with mlat aircraft too?

YES, it is possible. Use same procedure as described in above post.
« Last Edit: February 24, 2020, 05:51:05 PM by abcd567 »

teesvalley spotter

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: How to feed RadarBox MLAT to VRS
« Reply #13 on: February 24, 2020, 05:50:36 PM »
Hi.

Is it possible to see MLAT returns from the AirNav Micro RadarBox ADS-B Receiver locally using Virtual Radar Server? It's the dongle and antenna kit off Amazon for £14.95 - https://www.amazon.co.uk/AirNav-Micro-RadarBox-ADS-B-Receiver/dp/B01GNGZAIG

Getting adsb via VRS is easy enough to set up just wondering if it's possible with mlat aircraft too?

YES, it is possible.
Use same procedure as described in above post.

Hi. Thanks for your reply the above all seems to be aimed at a raspberry pi. Is it possible to do the same somehow for those just using a PC

abcd567

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 323
  • CYYZ - Toronto
Re: How to feed RadarBox MLAT to VRS
« Reply #14 on: February 24, 2020, 05:55:41 PM »

Hi. Thanks for your reply the above all seems to be aimed at a raspberry pi. Is it possible to do the same somehow for those just using a PC

No, I dont think it is possible to configure Windows RBfeeder for mlat feed back. In fact I never tried it. The method described in this thread is for RPi feeder.

Note: Even with RB feeder on RPi, VRS on Windows can be used, as done in howto post above.
« Last Edit: February 24, 2020, 06:02:19 PM by abcd567 »