anything
AirNav RadarBox
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 


Author Topic: Routes situation  (Read 10650 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4219
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: Routes situation
« Reply #15 on: May 06, 2011, 03:38:28 PM »
I get the error message attached (hopefully) below?

Cut & pasted your query - so shouldn;t be any typos...

Cut & Paste from this forum seems to remove end-of-line breaks.  Try this:

SELECT DISTINCT
       FlightRoute.flight AS FN,
       substr(FlightRoute.route,1,4) AS NO,
       substr(FlightRoute.route,length(FlightRoute.route)-3,4) AS ND,
       "" AS NV,
       substr(date('now'),1,4) || substr(date('now'),6,2) || substr(date('now'),9,2) || "090000" AS CH
FROM FlightRoute
ORDER BY
      FN

Pinza

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 248
Re: Routes situation
« Reply #16 on: May 06, 2011, 06:43:43 PM »
Many thanks for that Tarbat - that re-posted query worked fine.

I now have 60214 routes in a format ready to export to XML and re-import into my AirNav routes database.

Pushing the limits of my computer skills, but will give it a go later!

Need to eat first and then make sure everything possible is backed up before I proceed...

Will report back how it goes.

Thanks again
Chris




Pinza

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 248
Re: Routes situation
« Reply #17 on: May 06, 2011, 07:14:20 PM »
For someone who is very interested in the queries you post but isnt aware of how these queries work, where do you put the query and what software do you need to get it to work.

I use SQLite Maestro.
1. Open the Yahoo groups routes database.
2. Run the query, and export to XML.
3. Open the navdata.db3 database.
4. Empty the routes table.
4. Import the XML file to the routes table.

I do this on a regular basis, and currently have 60,000+ routes.  Of course I can't vouch for the accuracy of the Yahoo groups database, but I've never spotted any obvious errors.

Okay, have followed steps 1 & 2 successfully. I now have a file called routes.xml in a location that I know where to retrieve it from.

Steps 3, 4 and 5 are confusing me:

When you say " Open the navdata.db3 database." do you mean in SQlite Maestro or in ANRB itself.

If the latter, do I need to be in Database Explorer? - I see no option for 'emptying' the routes. And only import option seems to be for SQB files.

Sorry to be pain, but would like to get this to work - feel I'm very close!

Chris


tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4219
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: Routes situation
« Reply #18 on: May 06, 2011, 07:29:21 PM »
When you say " Open the navdata.db3 database." do you mean in SQlite Maestro or in ANRB itself.

In SQLite Maestro.  Take a backup before you mess around with the database though.

Pinza

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 248
Re: Routes situation
« Reply #19 on: May 06, 2011, 07:50:59 PM »
When you say " Open the navdata.db3 database." do you mean in SQlite Maestro or in ANRB itself.

In SQLite Maestro.  Take a backup before you mess around with the database though.

Almost there!

Now have navdata.db3 database open in SQLite Maestro and navigated to the routes table.

How do I empty the data from this table (showing 396358 dodgy routes) before I import my XML file of 60214+ updated routes?

This is scary stuff for me - everything backed up though!!!!

Chris


tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4219
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: Routes situation
« Reply #20 on: May 06, 2011, 08:50:41 PM »
Right click on the table and select "Empty Table (routes)".  Then open the empty table and use the Import wizard.

Pinza

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 248
Re: Routes situation
« Reply #21 on: May 07, 2011, 12:43:19 PM »
Right click on the table and select "Empty Table (routes)".  Then open the empty table and use the Import wizard.

Hmm, got as far as emptying my routes table but struggled with the import wizard in SQLite Maestro.

Import button was greyed out and don't know anything about XML file structures so gave up after several hours!

However, I started again from scratch - this time using SQLite Manager (a free add-on for Firefox) and exported and imported using CSV structure which I am more comfortable with.

Just fired up ANRB and all working fine.

Many, many thanks Tarbat for your 'query' to convert the data from the Yahoo groups, and subsequent assistance via this this thread

Happy boy now!!!

tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4219
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: Routes situation
« Reply #22 on: May 07, 2011, 01:52:16 PM »
Many, many thanks Tarbat for your 'query' to convert the data from the Yahoo groups, and subsequent assistance via this this thread

Happy boy now!!!

Glad you got it working.

nortonbeak

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 318
  • RadarBox MVT7100 PCR1000 M0NBK
Re: Routes situation
« Reply #23 on: June 18, 2011, 01:36:54 PM »
I have just got my Routes database up to date. I downloaded the latest file from PP-Logs. Then I used SQLite (which is free!) to run Tarbats little SQ routine.

My thanks to Tarbat for the routine :-)

If anyone wants to try it, SQLite can be downloaded at

http://www.sqlite.org/download.html