AirNav Systems Forum

AirNav RadarBox and RadarBox24.com => AirNav RadarBox and RadarBox24.com Discussion => Topic started by: GuruCoz on June 07, 2022, 09:03:57 AM

Title: No Data and no aircraft on RB Site - Linux piaware
Post by: GuruCoz on June 07, 2022, 09:03:57 AM
I am running piaware 5.10.92-v7l+ on PI4 and was successfully feeding data to FA and RB using dump1090-fa and dump978-fa. Three days ago the radarbox.com website indicated "No Data" (yellow line). However, the site is incrementing ADS-b (with position) counters, but not displaying any aircraft. PLease help? More data below.

[email protected]:~ $ sudo piaware-status
PiAware master process (piaware) is running with pid 483.
PiAware ADS-B client (faup1090) is running with pid 583.
PiAware ADS-B UAT client (faup978) is running with pid 9253.
PiAware mlat client (fa-mlat-client) is running with pid 8788.
Local ADS-B receiver (dump1090-fa) is running with pid 473.
Local ADS-B UAT receiver (dump978-fa) is running with pid 9227.

dump1090-fa (pid 473) is listening for ES connections on port 30005.
dump978-fa (pid 9227) is listening for UAT connections on port 30978.
faup1090 is connected to the ADS-B receiver.
faup978 is connected to the ADS-B UAT receiver.
piaware is connected to FlightAware.

dump978 is producing data on localhost:30978.
dump1090 is producing data on localhost:30005.

[email protected]:~ $ more /etc/rbfeeder.ini
[client]
network_mode=true
log_file=/var/log/rbfeeder.log

key=x

sn=EXTRPI014656

[network]
mode=beast
external_port=30005
external_host=127.0.0.1

[mlat]
autostart_mlat=true
#mlat_cmd=/usr/bin/python3.9 /usr/bin/mlat-client

[dump978]
dump978_enabled=true
dump978_port=30979

● rbfeeder.service - RBFeeder Service
     Loaded: loaded (/lib/systemd/system/rbfeeder.service; enabled; vendor preset: enabled)
     Active: active (running) since Mon 2022-06-06 19:42:07 UTC; 12h ago
    Process: 487 ExecStartPre=/bin/mkdir /var/run/rbfeeder (code=exited, status=0/SUCCESS)
    Process: 496 ExecStartPre=/bin/chown rbfeeder:rbfeeder /var/run/rbfeeder (code=exited, status=0/SUCCESS)
    Process: 497 ExecStartPre=/bin/touch /var/log/rbfeeder.log (code=exited, status=0/SUCCESS)
    Process: 501 ExecStartPre=/bin/chown rbfeeder:rbfeeder /var/log/rbfeeder.log (code=exited, status=0/SUCCESS)
    Process: 503 ExecStartPre=/bin/chown rbfeeder:rbfeeder /etc/rbfeeder.ini (code=exited, status=0/SUCCESS)
    Process: 504 ExecStartPre=/bin/setfacl -m u:www-data:rwx /etc/rbfeeder.ini (code=exited, status=0/SUCCESS)
   Main PID: 506 (rbfeeder)
      Tasks: 10 (limit: 4335)
        CPU: 3min 56.865s
     CGroup: /system.slice/rbfeeder.service
             └─506 /usr/bin/rbfeeder

Jun 07 08:31:01 piaware rbfeeder[506]: [2022-06-07 08:31:01]  Data sent: 4.4 MB
Jun 07 08:31:01 piaware rbfeeder[506]: [2022-06-07 08:31:01]  Data received: 31 B
Jun 07 08:32:02 piaware rbfeeder[506]: [2022-06-07 08:32:02]  ******** Statistics updated every 60 seconds ********
Jun 07 08:32:02 piaware rbfeeder[506]: [2022-06-07 08:32:02]  Packets sent in the last 60 seconds: 41, Total packets sent since startup: 136110
Jun 07 08:32:02 piaware rbfeeder[506]: [2022-06-07 08:32:02]  Data sent: 4.4 MB
Jun 07 08:32:02 piaware rbfeeder[506]: [2022-06-07 08:32:02]  Data received: 31 B
Jun 07 08:33:03 piaware rbfeeder[506]: [2022-06-07 08:33:03]  ******** Statistics updated every 60 seconds ********
Jun 07 08:33:03 piaware rbfeeder[506]: [2022-06-07 08:33:03]  Packets sent in the last 60 seconds: 42, Total packets sent since startup: 136152
Jun 07 08:33:03 piaware rbfeeder[506]: [2022-06-07 08:33:03]  Data sent: 4.4 MB
Jun 07 08:33:03 piaware rbfeeder[506]: [2022-06-07 08:33:03]  Data received: 31 B
Title: Re: No Data and no aircraft on RB Site - Linux piaware
Post by: Runway 31 on June 07, 2022, 12:03:01 PM
I note that you have
dump978-fa (pid 9227) is listening for UAT connections on port 30978
and
dump978 is producing data on localhost:30978.
and then

[dump978]
dump978_enabled=true
dump978_port=30979

2 different ports stated, 30978 and 30979

Also see this thread that may help https://forum.radarbox24.com/index.php?topic=106241.0

Alan
Title: Re: No Data and no aircraft on RB Site - Linux piaware
Post by: abcd567 on June 07, 2022, 03:56:26 PM
I note that you have
dump978-fa (pid 9227) is listening for UAT connections on port 30978
and
dump978 is producing data on localhost:30978.
and then

[dump978]
dump978_enabled=true
dump978_port=30979

2 different ports stated, 30978 and 30979


This is correct.
The dump978-fa outputs data on two different ports 30978 & 30979 in two different formats "raw" and "json".

Flightaware's datafeeder "piaware" uses data in "raw" format which is available from port 30978, and that is what "piaware status" output shows.

Radarbox24's datafeeder "rbfeeder" use data in "json" format which is available from port 30979, so it is configured to use port 30979. That is what "file rbfeeder.ini" has.


Title: Re: No Data and no aircraft on RB Site - Linux piaware
Post by: abcd567 on June 07, 2022, 04:52:54 PM

     CGroup: /system.slice/rbfeeder.service
             └─506 /usr/bin/rbfeeder

Jun 07 08:31:01 piaware rbfeeder[506]: [2022-06-07 08:31:01]  Data sent: 4.4 MB
Jun 07 08:31:01 piaware rbfeeder[506]: [2022-06-07 08:31:01]  Data received: 31 B
Jun 07 08:32:02 piaware rbfeeder[506]: [2022-06-07 08:32:02]  ******** Statistics updated every 60 seconds ********

In output of command "sudo systemctl status rbfeeder", the 2nd line in "CGroup:" (for mlat) is missing.

Below is my output:

Quote
     CGroup: /system.slice/rbfeeder.service
             ├─564 /usr/bin/rbfeeder
             └─610 /usr/bin/python3.9 /usr/bin/mlat-client --input-type dump1090 --input-connect 127.0.0.1:32457 --server mlat1.rb24.com:40900 --lat 43>


To restore MLAT, simply REBOOT RPi
This problem is due to a bug in Radarbox24 supplied mlat-client. If you restart rbfeeder by command "sudo systemctl restart rbfeeder", the mlat will not restart, and mlat line will disappear from rbfeeder's status. The only way to restart MLAT it is to Reboot the Pi.

I have solved this problem by purging the mlat-client which I installed by "sudo apt install mlat-client" and built & installed mlat-client from its source-code at https://github.com/mutability/mlat-client
.
Title: Re: No Data and no aircraft on RB Site - Linux piaware
Post by: abcd567 on June 07, 2022, 05:09:30 PM
I am running piaware 5.10.92-v7l+ on PI4 and was successfully feeding data to FA and RB using dump1090-fa and dump978-fa. Three days ago the radarbox.com website indicated "No Data" (yellow line). However, the site is incrementing ADS-b (with position) counters, but not displaying any aircraft. PLease help? More data below.


sn=EXTRPI014656


Dont worry, at your setup, everything working OK. The poroblem is with Radarbox24 servers. Just for example, right now my following site, although working OK, is showing YELLOW line in progress:

https://www.radarbox.com/stations/EXTRPI000008
.
Title: Re: No Data and no aircraft on RB Site - Linux piaware
Post by: Runway 31 on June 07, 2022, 05:32:38 PM
Thanks abcd.  While they are both are working and yellow the are not showing aircraft on the map

Alan
Title: Re: No Data and no aircraft on RB Site - Linux piaware
Post by: abcd567 on June 07, 2022, 05:37:10 PM
Yes, yellow line & no aircraft. See attached screenshot of my station EXTRPI000008
Something wrong with RB24 servers. Need to notify support.

My other two sites are showing OK

https://www.radarbox.com/stations/EXTRPI000035

https://www.radarbox.com/stations/EXTRPI000036


Title: Re: No Data and no aircraft on RB Site - Linux piaware
Post by: Runway 31 on June 07, 2022, 06:32:15 PM
Neither of those two are showing either

Alan
Title: Re: No Data and no aircraft on RB Site - Linux piaware
Post by: GuruCoz on June 07, 2022, 07:51:48 PM
This is great info all! Thank you so much for responding. I appreciate it!

I have not spent any cycles getting mlat on RB working, so thanks for that find.

Do I contact RB support, or do they monitor this thread?
Title: Re: No Data and no aircraft on RB Site - Linux piaware
Post by: Runway 31 on June 07, 2022, 08:00:13 PM
They dont monitor, contact [email protected]

Alan
Title: Re: No Data and no aircraft on RB Site - Linux piaware
Post by: Runway 31 on June 08, 2022, 10:56:52 AM
Stations not showing plots, Airnav advised earlier today

Alan
Title: Re: No Data and no aircraft on RB Site - Linux piaware
Post by: GuruCoz on June 08, 2022, 11:03:42 AM
FYSA
Sent ticket request to support last night and within 5 minutes I was asked to restart rbfeeder and data aircraft appeared on web and green status began.
Title: Re: No Data and no aircraft on RB Site - Linux piaware
Post by: Runway 31 on June 08, 2022, 11:41:34 AM
Good to know

Alan
Title: Re: No Data and no aircraft on RB Site - Linux piaware
Post by: abcd567 on June 08, 2022, 05:15:50 PM
I did NOT email support,  but have several times restarted rbfeeder and several times rebooted Pi,  but the problem persists.  Please see screenshot I took just now.

This shows that the problem is NOT at the feeder Pi.  When Support was contacted by the user,  they fixed it at their end on RB24 server and after that advised user to restart rbfeeder.

I will now send email to support and see what happens.


Title: Re: No Data and no aircraft on RB Site - Linux piaware
Post by: Runway 31 on June 08, 2022, 05:26:37 PM
I emailed to advise at 0801 UK time this morning.  They are showing on the global map but not on individual stations

Alan
Title: Re: No Data and no aircraft on RB Site - Linux piaware
Post by: abcd567 on June 08, 2022, 06:49:58 PM
Sent email to support.  Within half an hour they replied and asked me to reboot the Pi.

I rebooted Pi,  and within few minutes aircraft start showing on map.  It is now half an hour since then,  aircraft are showing,  but yellow progress bar is still there,  no change in it. Please attached screenshot.
Title: Re: No Data and no aircraft on RB Site - Linux piaware
Post by: Runway 31 on June 08, 2022, 07:07:20 PM
It is green now.  Individual stations now all showing again

Alan
Title: Re: No Data and no aircraft on RB Site - Linux piaware
Post by: abcd567 on June 08, 2022, 11:51:02 PM
Thanks Alan.  Yes it is grren now.
Title: Re: No Data and no aircraft on RB Site - Linux piaware
Post by: Alpha31 on June 11, 2022, 04:02:43 PM
Hello everyone,
I have exactly the same problem since last night and it happens to me often.
But the biggest problem is that some planes are not visible on the map while on the other feeds it works. Too bad because I find Radarbox above the others.
Title: Re: No Data and no aircraft on RB Site - Linux piaware
Post by: Runway 31 on June 11, 2022, 08:02:44 PM
I would imgine aircraft not showing on the map it is related to time-outs on each app

Alan
Title: Re: No Data and no aircraft on RB Site - Linux piaware
Post by: wiedehopf on June 11, 2022, 08:46:27 PM
Considering the number of recent reports, i'd say radarbox has serious issues with their internal software.
Title: Re: No Data and no aircraft on RB Site - Linux piaware
Post by: abcd567 on June 11, 2022, 10:58:47 PM
Considering the number of recent reports, i'd say radarbox has serious issues with their internal software.

Right, issues with their software plus possibly their Server capacity has not been enhanced sufficiently to meet addition of large number of RPi feeders during last few years.

Title: Re: No Data and no aircraft on RB Site - Linux piaware
Post by: Runway 31 on June 12, 2022, 04:24:40 PM
Which recent reports are we discussing, aircraft not showing when showing elsewhere or what??

The data goes yellow when the server is down whether for planned maintenance or an error requiring corrective action is down, the uptime lost due to the server being down goes back to green when it comes back up. It also goes yellow when the receiver is not picking anything up for a time as can happen during the night.  During the issue here with abcd showing yellow, the server had an issue but when I saw the report and reported it to the developers it was fixed quickly.  I can bypass support and go direct to the developers speeding things up.

  have no knowledge on capacities etc but am happy to forward on reports of issues to the developers and I am afraid reports like " I have exactly the same problem since last night and it happens to me often." is not giving me the information I need to pass on.  Please be specific with your reports please

Support does not monitor the forum so if you are experiencing issues please contact [email protected] with fill details of your specific issue/s.  If you dont advise them the cant fix the issue

Alan
Title: Re: No Data and no aircraft on RB Site - Linux piaware
Post by: Alpha31 on June 12, 2022, 04:53:47 PM
hello,

I meant in "I have exactly the same problem since last night and it happens to me often" it is in relation to the subject of the topic. The data is well transmitted elsewhere but not at radarbox.
Concerning the report of the planes which does not appear. I have already sent an email and it was answered to me
"​Both systems have different time out settings which causes the difference. I would not worry."
so indeed he should review their system.
Too bad because I find it much more complete.
Title: Re: No Data and no aircraft on RB Site - Linux piaware
Post by: Runway 31 on June 12, 2022, 05:03:21 PM
Alpha

The subject line is No Data and no aircraft on RB Site - Linux piaware.  This issue was not limited to Piaware but to all station as it was caused by the server being down, once corrected the aircraft came back up for feeders.

Your issue is for you Radarbox is showing less plots than other trackers from the same feed which is completely different. 

Can you advise please when you state "Concerning the report of the planes which does not appear"  do you mean that certain aircraft dont show on your system or do you mean that they stop showing sooner on Radarbox than on other trackers?  Are the aircraft concerned full ADSB or are they MLAT only as it may be caused by limited Radarbox MLAT coverage at your location, if you give your station ID I can have a look at stations synced if you are set up for MLAT.  Also are they at the extremes of your coverage or near the centre etc

I can query with the developers with the info and it would help if you could post a screen shot of your station coverage for Radarbox and the other service for comparison please

Alan
Title: Re: No Data and no aircraft on RB Site - Linux piaware
Post by: Alpha31 on June 12, 2022, 08:18:48 PM
yes indeed my problem is that there is a difference between the planes displayed.
For fr24+fa both are identical as well as on my local.
The mlat is right on fa but for fr24 and radarbox they are deactivated because I thought I understood that there could be problems...

I detail you my config. Dump-fa install before feed services.

for the services they are in beast on PORT 30005

here is my radaxbox station: EXTRPI147847
as well as screenshots for comparison.

Thanks a lot.
Title: Re: No Data and no aircraft on RB Site - Linux piaware
Post by: wiedehopf on June 13, 2022, 04:31:07 AM
That seems to be roughly the same planes i don't see any issue.

This is not an issue, the interfaces most likely have different criteria for displaying a flight.
For example one might only deem an aircraft position reliable after getting multiple positions close to each other.
Title: Re: No Data and no aircraft on RB Site - Linux piaware
Post by: Alpha31 on June 13, 2022, 07:34:25 AM
ok, if you tell me that there is no problem, I accept it but there is still a difference of 10 planes missing sometimes a little more...

thank you for your return, and also say a big thank you for your availability for the community as well as for your software (tar, graph...)

I installed everything with your tutorials as well as those of abcd567.
thanks to you two.
Title: Re: No Data and no aircraft on RB Site - Linux piaware
Post by: wiedehopf on June 13, 2022, 09:51:13 AM
shameless plug: https://github.com/wiedehopf/adsb-wiki/wiki/Raspbian-Lite:-ADS-B-receiver

If you want a remote display you can link to people, consider the adsbexchange feed page as well (i'd prefer it over the screenshots above).
Title: Re: No Data and no aircraft on RB Site - Linux piaware
Post by: Runway 31 on June 13, 2022, 10:43:44 AM
Thanks for your input wiedehopf.  As you state they look very similar to me as well.  Timeouts can make a big difference if one tracker uses say 30 seconds after loosing as signal to remove a plot from screen and another uses several minutes

Even well within your coverage area signals from aircraft can be lost due to obstructions not just at the edge of coverage and plotting can come and go depending on time outs

Alan