AirNav Systems Forum

AirNav RadarBox and RadarBox24.com => AirNav RadarBox and RadarBox24.com Discussion => Topic started by: ramimz on February 13, 2022, 01:58:08 PM

Title: How to set PPM on dump1090-fa ?
Post by: ramimz on February 13, 2022, 01:58:08 PM
I followd abcd567 step by step guide on "How to install RBFeeder with Raspbian Bullseye?"
but I can't find where to set the PPM  :(

Code: [Select]
# dump1090-fa configuration
# This is sourced by /usr/share/dump1090-fa/start-dump1090-fa as a
# shellscript fragment.

# dump1090-fa won't automatically start unless ENABLED=yes
ENABLED=yes

# SDR device type. Use "none" for a net-only configuration
RECEIVER=rtlsdr
# serial number or device index of device to use (only needed if there is more than one SDR connected)
RECEIVER_SERIAL=
# Initial receiver gain, in dB. If adaptive gain is enabled (see below) the actual gain
# may change over time
RECEIVER_GAIN=49.6

# Adjust gain to try to achieve optimal dynamic range / noise floor?
ADAPTIVE_DYNAMIC_RANGE=yes
# Target dynamic range in dB (leave blank to autoselect based on SDR type)
ADAPTIVE_DYNAMIC_RANGE_TARGET=
# Reduce gain when loud message bursts from nearby aircraft are seen?
ADAPTIVE_BURST=no
# Gain range to allow when changing gain, in dB (empty = no limit)
ADAPTIVE_MIN_GAIN=
ADAPTIVE_MAX_GAIN=

# Turn on options to reduce load on slower CPUs, at the expense of slightly worse decoder performance.
# Setting "auto" will enable these options only if the CPU appears to be a slow CPU (currently this
# means armv6 only, e.g. Pi Zero)
SLOW_CPU=auto
# Local wisdom file used to select DSP implementations; uses built-in ranking if the file is missing
WISDOM=/etc/dump1090-fa/wisdom.local

# Correct CRC errors where possible
ERROR_CORRECTION=yes

# Receiver location, used for some types of position decoding. Provide the location as
# signed decimal degrees. If not given here, dump1090 will also try to read a receiver
# location from /var/cache/piaware/location.env (written automatically by PiAware, if installed)
RECEIVER_LAT=31.xxxx
RECEIVER_LON=33.xxxx
# Maximum range, in NM. Positions more distant than this are ignored. No limit if not set.
MAX_RANGE=360

# Network ports to listen on for connections
NET_RAW_INPUT_PORTS=
NET_RAW_OUTPUT_PORTS=30002
NET_SBS_OUTPUT_PORTS=30003
NET_BEAST_INPUT_PORTS=30004,30104
NET_BEAST_OUTPUT_PORTS=30005
# Accuracy of location written to JSON output
JSON_LOCATION_ACCURACY=1

# Additional options can be added here:
EXTRA_OPTIONS=""

# If OVERRIDE_OPTIONS is set, only those options are used; all other options
# in this config file are ignored.
OVERRIDE_OPTIONS=""

# This is a marker to make it easier for scripts to identify a v6-style config file
CONFIG_STYLE=6
Title: Re: How to set PPM on dump1090-fa ?
Post by: Runway 31 on February 13, 2022, 03:19:11 PM
I believe to adjust gain you need to run a script, see this for information https://discussions.flightaware.com/t/gain-adjustment/18376

49.6 that you have set is max, you have it working and I dont think adjustment will make that much difference, antenna hight above surroundings would be the most important for me

Alan
Title: Re: How to set PPM on dump1090-fa ?
Post by: abcd567 on February 14, 2022, 04:03:23 AM
I followd abcd567 step by step guide on "How to install RBFeeder with Raspbian Bullseye?"
but I can't find where to set the PPM  :(

Why you want to adjust PPM? it is really not important. I never adjust PPM.

However if you want to adjust PPM, following is the procedure:

(1) First install package rtl-sdr required for testing

Code: [Select]
pi@raspberrypi:~ $ sudo apt install rtl-sdr 

Next stop piaware and dump1090-fa
Code: [Select]
pi@raspberrypi:~ $ sudo systemctl stop piaware dump1090-fa 



(2) Next give following command, and wait for PPM data to appear gradually. Use Ctrl and C keys to break the output

Code: [Select]
pi@raspberrypi:~ $ sudo rtl_test -p -d 1

Found 2 device(s):
  0:  Realtek, RTL2838UHIDIR, SN: 00000978
  1:  Realtek, RTL2832U, SN: 00001090

Using device 1: Generic RTL2832U
Found Rafael Micro R820T tuner
Supported gain values (29): 0.0 0.9 1.4 2.7 3.7 7.7 8.7 12.5 14.4 15.7 16.6 19.7 20.7 22.9 25.4 28.0 29.7 32.8 33.8 36.4 37.2 38.6 40.2 42.1 43.4 43.9 44.5 48.0 49.6
[R82XX] PLL not locked!
Sampling at 2048000 S/s.
Reporting PPM error measurement every 10 seconds...
Press ^C after a few minutes.
Reading samples in async mode...
Allocating 15 zero-copy buffers
lost at least 136 bytes
real sample rate: 2047190 current PPM: -395 cumulative PPM: -395
real sample rate: 2047901 current PPM: -48 cumulative PPM: -215
real sample rate: 2048272 current PPM: 133 cumulative PPM: -96
real sample rate: 2047829 current PPM: -83 cumulative PPM: -93
real sample rate: 2048578 current PPM: 283 cumulative PPM: -17
real sample rate: 2047695 current PPM: -149 cumulative PPM: -39
real sample rate: 2047772 current PPM: -111 cumulative PPM: -49
real sample rate: 2048215 current PPM: 105 cumulative PPM: -30
real sample rate: 2047879 current PPM: -59 cumulative PPM: -33
real sample rate: 2048041 current PPM: 20 cumulative PPM: -28


(3) If you are using piaware SD card image,  give following command to adjust PPM to desired value n
(Replace n by the number you want)

Code: [Select]
sudo piaware-config rtlsdr-ppm n

(4) If you are using Raspberry Pi OS with package install of dump1090-fa, then do this:

Code: [Select]
sudo nano /etc/default/dump1090-fa

Scroll down to this line
Code: [Select]
# Additional options can be added here:
EXTRA_OPTIONS=""

Add your PPM's desired value n like this:
(Replace n by the number you want)

Code: [Select]
# Additional options can be added here:
EXTRA_OPTIONS="--ppm n"

Save file (Ctrl + O) and close (Ctrl + X)

Restart dump1090-fa
Code: [Select]
sudo systemctl restart dump1090-fa




Title: Re: How to set PPM on dump1090-fa ?
Post by: ramimz on February 14, 2022, 06:40:50 AM
Hi.
here is the output

Code: [Select]
pi@RPi:~ $ sudo rtl_test -p -d 1
Found 1 device(s):
  0:  Realtek, RTL2838UHIDIR, SN: 00000008

No matching devices found.
pi@RPi:~ $

I use your guide.
I started from scratch, pure bullseye, and then:
(1) dump1090-fa and piaware (without dump978)
https://github.com/abcd567a/piaware-ubuntu20-amd64/blob/master/README.md
(2a) Radarbox24 feeder
(2b) mlat-client
(3) Flightradar24 feeder
(4) Adsbexchange
(5) Graphs

everything it's wotking great, only FR24 Mlat failed  :(

Flightaware - working, Mlat - working
Radarbox24 - working, Mlat - working
Flightradar24 - working, Mlat - NOT working
Adsbexchange - working, Mlat - working

How to set multi feeders to work together ?   
Title: Re: How to set PPM on dump1090-fa ?
Post by: abcd567 on February 14, 2022, 02:57:56 PM
Failure of Flightradar24 MLAT is problem from their server. Lot of user face this and cannot do anything to fix it. They simply ignore it. If your FR24 feed is working, then ignore its MLAT.
Title: Re: How to set PPM on dump1090-fa ?
Post by: ramimz on February 14, 2022, 07:58:18 PM
You know what ? And I will maintain proper language.
Let them go and look for someone else that will work for them.
I get nothing from any of them, they are the ones who have to run after me, not the other way around.
Any feeder that makes me a problem, I'll just delete it from the device, and that's it.
why do I need to work hard ???
Title: Re: How to set PPM on dump1090-fa ?
Post by: abcd567 on February 15, 2022, 03:14:38 AM
@ramimz
Why are you so upset about Flightradar24 MLAT? They don't provide the mlat-results-feedback to the feeder, so it does not make any difference to user if their mlat is working or not.

On the other hand Flightaware, Adsbexchange and Radarbox24 provide mlat-results-feedback to the user, so if these are not working properly, the user's anger is understandable.


.
Title: Re: How to set PPM on dump1090-fa ?
Post by: ramimz on February 19, 2022, 06:40:17 PM
I'm not upset.
I just do not respect a company that launches a product
And asks for the help of users, but their support is almost non-existent.
That's it.

@ramimz
Why are you so upset about Flightradar24 MLAT? They don't provide the mlat-results-feedback to the feeder, so it does not make any difference to user if their mlat is working or not.
.