AirNav Systems Forum

AirNav RadarBox and RadarBox24.com => AirNav RadarBox and RadarBox24.com Discussion => Topic started by: wiedehopf on March 27, 2019, 04:45:09 PM

Title: MLAT
Post by: wiedehopf on March 27, 2019, 04:45:09 PM
I didn't even know you need to install the package mlat-client on the RPi.

This is new i presume as it's not in the install script?
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: abcd567 on March 27, 2019, 05:03:46 PM
STEP-1: Update & install mlat-client
Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install mlat-client -y
sudo reboot

NOTE:
Above method to install mlat-client may fail for Raspbian Buster. If this happens, then use method given in the following post:
https://www.airnavsystems.com/forum/index.php?topic=101771.msg407051#msg407051

STEP-2: Edit file /etc/rbfeeder.ini, and ADD lines shown in RED to enable mlat
Note:
Use actual values in place of:
xx.xxxxxx (latitude)
yy.yyyyyy (longitude)
zzz  (antenna height, in meters, above sea level)

Code: [Select]
sudo nano /etc/rbfeeder.ini


Quote
[client]
network_mode=true
log_file=/var/log/rbfeeder.log
key=aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
sn=EXTRPI000nnn
lat=xx.xxxxxx
lon=yy.yyyyyy
alt=zzz

[network]
mode=beast
external_port=30005
external_host=127.0.0.1

[mlat]
autostart_mlat=true


STEP-3: Restart rbfeeder
Code: [Select]
sudo systemctl restart rbfeeder

STEP-4: Check page: 
radarbox24.com/stations/EXTRPInnnnnn
(replace nnnnnn by your station number)
IF MLAT IS OK, it will be like attached screenshot.

========================================================
Alternate to STEP-2 (all other steps remain same)
========================================================
Instead of editing file /etc/rbfeeder.ini and adding lat, lon & alt manually, you can set these from RB24 web interface as shown below:
1. Go to following web page (replace xxxxxx by your station number)
radarbox24.com/stations/EXTRPIxxxxxx
2. Login to your account.
3. After login, on top left of web page, at the end of the line showing your city, Edit will appear, as shown by red arrow in attached screenshot.
Click Edit. This will open lat/lon setting box. Set your lat, lon & alt there.
4. Go to STEP-3 (restart rbfeeder)



Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: wiedehopf on March 27, 2019, 05:12:57 PM
If you provide the exact position on the website, the position will be automatically placed in the configuration file ;)

(At least i don't remember putting my coordinates into that file)
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: Runway 31 on March 27, 2019, 06:15:18 PM
Its new and has not been announced officially yet.  The X-Range 2 and X-Range, maybe other receivers as well but I don't know, are getting new firmware installed for MLAT capability.  Once they all have their firmware updated an email will be sent to all feeders asking them where necessary to update their Pi and/or to update their exact lat/lon to enable MLAT across the board

Alan
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: ea2ip on March 27, 2019, 06:49:35 PM
(Used actual values in place of xxxxxxxxxxxx, xx.xxxxxx, yy.yyyyyy, zzz (antenna height in meters)

Antenna height from ground or sea level?

Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: abcd567 on March 27, 2019, 06:56:44 PM
(Used actual values in place of xxxxxxxxxxxx, xx.xxxxxx, yy.yyyyyy, zzz (antenna height in meters)

Antenna height from ground or sea level?
Antenna Height Above Sea Level.
Sorry forgot to write in last post, will correct now.
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: MDA on March 27, 2019, 08:20:35 PM
First in neighborhood :-)
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: ea2ip on March 27, 2019, 09:43:18 PM
Not problem, working

Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: wiedehopf on March 30, 2019, 05:36:55 PM
We have liftoff, MLAT is working :)

Note that per default the MLAT results from the rbfeeder MLAT are not visible in the local dump1090 map.

Hopefully when the feature is stable the feeder will have an option to enable forwarding the results to the local dump1090.

(https://www.airnavsystems.com/forum/index.php?action=dlattach;topic=101771.0;attach=51661)
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: Aerotower on March 31, 2019, 09:30:26 AM
Here you see that map?

thanks
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: wiedehopf on March 31, 2019, 10:12:15 AM
That's the dump1090-fa webinterface with the wikipedia map tiles.

The layers.js can be modified to accept different tiles:
https://github.com/wiedehopf/dev-webview/blob/master/layers.js


But as i said those MLAT results are currently not visible.

If you have a Raspberry Pi getting that map shouldn't be too complicated.

Do the radarbox and xrange offer beast or AVR data via TCP?
It's not too hard to run a dump1090-fa in net-only mode and display beast data from the web:
https://github.com/wiedehopf/combine1090#combine1090

If it is AVR and not beast you will have to modify the target port.
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: neroon79 on April 19, 2019, 03:10:22 PM
If trying to install mlat-client im getting the following:

Some packages could not be installed. That may mean that
You have requested an impossible situation or if you have the
Unstable distribution still use some required packages
have not been created or have not yet left Incoming.
The following information may help you to resolve the situation:

The following packages have unmet dependencies:
  mlat-client: Depends on: python3 (> = 3.5 ~) but 3.4.2-2 should be installed
                Depends on: python3.5: any is not installable
E: Problems can not be corrected, you have retained defective packages.

Ingo
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: wiedehopf on April 19, 2019, 03:54:20 PM
Run
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get upgrade

If that doesn't help you might be on Raspbian Jessie and need an upgrade to Stretch.

Depending on which sd-card image you started from that isn't too hard.
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: flygpagen on April 19, 2019, 05:50:55 PM
Hello there,

I put up a new antenna on the roof today, and then went and enabled MLAT on my Pi according to the instructions above. However I suspect that something is wrong, seeing that the coverage has expanded all the way to GB (the antenna is no way that good). Also MLAT does not show on the station as your examples in this thread.
https://www.radarbox24.com/stations/EXTRPI001593

Will return to the field and do some error probing but ideas are welcome...
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: Runway 31 on April 19, 2019, 06:35:41 PM
It looks like the feeder is updated correctly as you are showing the correct firmware version.  However now edit your location with the exact lat/lon in decimal then save.  Once that's done you should show MLAT active,

The spurious coverage shown over to the UK will wear off over the next week so I wouldn't bother with it

Alan
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: abcd567 on April 19, 2019, 11:41:22 PM
If trying to install mlat-client im getting the following:

Please post output of following command
Code: [Select]
cat /etc/os-release
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: wiedehopf on April 20, 2019, 12:09:08 AM
However I suspect that something is wrong, seeing that the coverage has expanded all the way to GB (the antenna is no way that good).

Something is indeed wrong, somehow the positions of aircraft above you are displayed way to the west.

I really have no clue how that could be happening.
Can you provide a screenshot of your local map, does it look like this as well?

Just in case you didn't already, do a reboot.
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: neroon79 on April 20, 2019, 05:55:26 AM
Run
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get upgrade

If that doesn't help you might be on Raspbian Jessie and need an upgrade to Stretch.

Depending on which sd-card image you started from that isn't too hard.
I just wanted you to know:

I waited as long as I could to do the Jessie -> Stretch migration due to the rule "never touch a running/working system". Anyway, migration worked without any severe impact or problem. After the migration the install mlat-client was of course working without any problem.

Thanks Ingo
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: wiedehopf on April 20, 2019, 07:49:16 AM
Will return to the field and do some error probing but ideas are welcome...

Can you check if lat and lon are correct in /etc/rbfeeder.ini?

sudo nano /etc/rbfeeder.ini

Fix them :)
(Press Ctrl-O and enter to save, then Ctrl-X to exit)

(That's about the only possibility i can imagine.)
I checked locally, putting in a position about 10 longitude to the west of your own position produces bogus positions.

After fixing the location you also need to stop rbfeeder or switch off the RPi for a couple of minutes, otherwise the feeder continues to be confused.
Using receiver local CPR is really a bad idea for feeding, just in case a developer is reading here :)

Stopping rbfeeder:

sudo systemctl stop rbfeeder

starting it again after a couple of minutes:

sudo systemctl restart rbfeeder
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: flygpagen on April 20, 2019, 10:12:38 AM
The station is at my airfield, I live appr. 25 kilometers away... Will install VNC server so that it will hopefully be easier to manage. :)

Anyway, I have updated the rbfeeder.ini with the following;
lat=56.131217 (was 56.131200)
long=13.879246 (was 13.879200)
That is the position I get when positioning using the radarbox webpage map localizer. Now powered Pi of, see if this helps. I have been trying to use the radarbox localization tool but it usually gives me this error;

We couldn't get your location!
Please ensure you have inserted decimal degrees or contact us at [email protected] to manually update



Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: wiedehopf on April 20, 2019, 10:17:15 AM
The rbfeeder.ini needs this:

lon=13.879246

long has an extra g in your version!
But the abbreviation for the config is lon not long.

(this could have resulted in the program using 0 as longitude/lon which looks exactly like your problem)
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: flygpagen on April 20, 2019, 10:25:36 AM
Well... I blush. Thank you for seeing this error! Corrected & restarted!
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: wiedehopf on April 20, 2019, 10:30:49 AM
Thank you for seeing this error! Corrected & restarted!

Good that you put it in your post, otherwise i would have been out of luck.

Anyway long is a perfectly valid abbreviation, just not the one commonly used it seems :)

Your station looks better already!
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: Runway 31 on April 20, 2019, 11:46:11 AM
Well done

Alan
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: glennblum on May 21, 2019, 10:49:06 PM
Got it installed. Thanks. No MLAT synched as of right now but I don't know how much coverage RB24 has in Texas.
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: Runway 31 on May 22, 2019, 08:26:51 AM
I think at this stage the issue may well be that the majority of users are not set up for MALT yet

Alan
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: abcd567 on May 22, 2019, 11:52:50 PM
....the majority of users are not set up for MALT yet

... because majority of users do NOT know that they can enable malat. :)
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: Runway 31 on May 23, 2019, 09:11:30 AM
I have been waiting on a email going out to users to advise.  A new firmware to enable for x-range units is due out by the weekend, maybe after it is out they will broadcast

Alan
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: SoNic67 on June 02, 2019, 02:44:09 PM
I think at this stage the issue may well be that the majority of users are not set up for MALT yet

Alan
Yeah, I found out only by accident, looking at my feed webpage, it was saying "MLAT not enabled" and had instructions how to enable it.
Now I am synced with 5 receivers.

For comparation, on the FlightAware side I am "synchronized with 185 nearby receivers".
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: Aerotower on June 02, 2019, 02:58:53 PM
I think at this stage the issue may well be that the majority of users are not set up for MALT yet

Alan
Yeah, I found out only by accident, looking at my feed webpage, it was saying "MLAT not enabled" and had instructions how to enable it.
Now I am synced with 5 receivers.

For comparation, on the FlightAware side I am "synchronized with 185 nearby receivers".

Hi, What is your feeder "alias"?

Thanks
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: abcd567 on July 02, 2019, 03:16:14 AM
Today I wrote latest Raspbian image (Buster) to microSD card and installed rbfeeder.
All went ok and the feeder is working fine.

However when I tried to install mlat-client by following command, it failed:

Code: [Select]
[email protected]:~ $ sudo apt-get install mlat-client

Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
Some packages could not be installed. This may mean that you have
requested an impossible situation or if you are using the unstable
distribution that some required packages have not yet been created
or been moved out of Incoming.
The following information may help to resolve the situation:

The following packages have unmet dependencies:
 mlat-client : Depends: python3 (< 3.6) but 3.7.3-1 is to be installed
E: Unable to correct problems, you have held broken packages.


I solved this problem by building the mlat-client package from source code as follows:

Code: [Select]
## Installed required packages (dependencies and build tools)
sudo apt update -y
sudo apt-get install -y git curl build-essential debhelper python-dev python3-dev

## Downloaded source code
cd /home/pi/
git clone https://github.com/mutability/mlat-client.git

## Built mlat-client's installation package
cd /home/pi/mlat-client
sudo dpkg-buildpackage -b -uc

## Above command took some time to build package
## After the package was built, installed it by following command
cd /home/pi/
sudo dpkg -i mlat-client_*.deb








Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: whome82 on July 02, 2019, 10:29:39 PM
I too have had the same problem however tried running the code as provided and now get the following error-

error: cannot access archive 'mlat-client_*.deb': no such file or directory.

Any ideas? thanks
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: abcd567 on July 03, 2019, 01:34:04 AM
I too have had the same problem however tried running the code as provided and now get the following error-

error: cannot access archive 'mlat-client_*.deb': no such file or directory.

Any ideas? thanks

Sorry, there was a mistake in the second last line.
It was wrongly written "cd /home/pi/mlat-client".
The correct command is "cd /home/pi/"

The last two commands should be like below. I have now corrected it in my original post also
Code: [Select]
cd /home/pi/
sudo dpkg -i mlat-client_*.deb
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: whome82 on July 03, 2019, 05:30:58 PM
Thank you, Perfect now working with MLAT on my Pi also!

Great stuff
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: kan84 on July 16, 2019, 06:15:46 PM
Thanks was able to get MLAT issue resolved for both my feeders. I had autostart_mlat set as true but that did not help, I had to put in the coordinates in the ini file for it to work.
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: Runway 31 on July 16, 2019, 06:19:08 PM
That's correct, Pi's require the lat/lon to be set for MLAT

Alan
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: anirbansen on November 28, 2019, 07:31:10 AM
In my new installation with Buster, I faced the same problem and recreated "mlat-client_0.2.10_armhf.deb". After I ran dpkg -i, I copied the fa-mlat-client to /usr/bin and radarbox24 feeder picked it up and started MLAT.  I then removed the packages  build-essential debhelper python-dev python3-dev and the mlat-client folder.

But sudo apt-get update is again displaying the error:
The following packages have unmet dependencies:
 mlat-client : Depends: python3 (< 3.6) but 3.7.3-1 is to be installed
E: Unable to correct problems, you have held broken packages.


The above packages have several dependencies which I did not want to keep in the system.  I have kept git and curl though.

Its worth mentioning that mlat-client_0.2.10_armhf.deb package is also there under /home/pi/adsb-exchange and the sub folder adsb-exchange also contains another folder "mlat-client" but which may be a different version as judged by file size of fa-mlat-client:
1) /user/bin/fa-mlat-client * 2147bytes
2) /home/pi/adsb-exchange/mlat-client/fa-mlat-client * 2149 bytes
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: wiedehopf on December 01, 2019, 02:23:37 PM
You need python3 for mlat.

Just install it with apt install.