AirNav Systems Forum

AirNav RadarBox and RadarBox24.com => AirNav RadarBox and RadarBox24.com Discussion => Topic started by: wiedehopf on March 27, 2019, 04:45:09 PM

Title: MLAT
Post by: wiedehopf on March 27, 2019, 04:45:09 PM
I didn't even know you need to install the package mlat-client on the RPi.

This is new i presume as it's not in the install script?
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: abcd567 on March 27, 2019, 05:03:46 PM
STEP-1: Update & install mlat-client
Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install mlat-client -y
sudo reboot

IMPORTANT NOTE:
Above method to install mlat-client may fail. If this happens, then use method given in the following post:
https://www.airnavsystems.com/forum/index.php?topic=101771.msg407051#msg407051

STEP-2: Edit file /etc/rbfeeder.ini, and ADD lines shown in RED to enable mlat
Note:
Use actual values in place of:
xx.xxxxxx (latitude)
yy.yyyyyy (longitude)
zzz  (antenna height, in meters, above sea level)

Code: [Select]
sudo nano /etc/rbfeeder.ini


Quote
[client]
network_mode=true
log_file=/var/log/rbfeeder.log
key=aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
sn=EXTRPI000nnn
lat=xx.xxxxxx
lon=yy.yyyyyy
alt=zzz

[network]
mode=beast
external_port=30005
external_host=127.0.0.1

[mlat]
autostart_mlat=true


STEP-3: Restart rbfeeder
Code: [Select]
sudo systemctl restart rbfeeder

STEP-4: Check page: 
radarbox24.com/stations/EXTRPInnnnnn
(replace nnnnnn by your station number)
IF MLAT IS OK, it will be like attached screenshot.

========================================================
Alternate to STEP-2 (all other steps remain same)
========================================================
Instead of editing file /etc/rbfeeder.ini and adding lat, lon & alt manually, you can set these from RB24 web interface as shown below:
1. Go to following web page (replace xxxxxx by your station number)
radarbox24.com/stations/EXTRPIxxxxxx
2. Login to your account.
3. After login, on top left of web page, at the end of the line showing your city, Edit will appear, as shown by red arrow in attached screenshot.
Click Edit. This will open lat/lon setting box. Set your lat, lon & alt there.
4. Go to STEP-3 (restart rbfeeder)



Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: wiedehopf on March 27, 2019, 05:12:57 PM
If you provide the exact position on the website, the position will be automatically placed in the configuration file ;)

(At least i don't remember putting my coordinates into that file)
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: Runway 31 on March 27, 2019, 06:15:18 PM
Its new and has not been announced officially yet.  The X-Range 2 and X-Range, maybe other receivers as well but I don't know, are getting new firmware installed for MLAT capability.  Once they all have their firmware updated an email will be sent to all feeders asking them where necessary to update their Pi and/or to update their exact lat/lon to enable MLAT across the board

Alan
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: ea2ip on March 27, 2019, 06:49:35 PM
(Used actual values in place of xxxxxxxxxxxx, xx.xxxxxx, yy.yyyyyy, zzz (antenna height in meters)

Antenna height from ground or sea level?

Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: abcd567 on March 27, 2019, 06:56:44 PM
(Used actual values in place of xxxxxxxxxxxx, xx.xxxxxx, yy.yyyyyy, zzz (antenna height in meters)

Antenna height from ground or sea level?
Antenna Height Above Sea Level.
Sorry forgot to write in last post, will correct now.
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: MDA on March 27, 2019, 08:20:35 PM
First in neighborhood :-)
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: ea2ip on March 27, 2019, 09:43:18 PM
Not problem, working

Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: wiedehopf on March 30, 2019, 05:36:55 PM
We have liftoff, MLAT is working :)

Note that per default the MLAT results from the rbfeeder MLAT are not visible in the local dump1090 map.

Hopefully when the feature is stable the feeder will have an option to enable forwarding the results to the local dump1090.

(https://www.airnavsystems.com/forum/index.php?action=dlattach;topic=101771.0;attach=51661)
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: Aerotower on March 31, 2019, 09:30:26 AM
Here you see that map?

thanks
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: wiedehopf on March 31, 2019, 10:12:15 AM
That's the dump1090-fa webinterface with the wikipedia map tiles.

The layers.js can be modified to accept different tiles:
https://github.com/wiedehopf/dev-webview/blob/master/layers.js


But as i said those MLAT results are currently not visible.

If you have a Raspberry Pi getting that map shouldn't be too complicated.

Do the radarbox and xrange offer beast or AVR data via TCP?
It's not too hard to run a dump1090-fa in net-only mode and display beast data from the web:
https://github.com/wiedehopf/combine1090#combine1090

If it is AVR and not beast you will have to modify the target port.
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: neroon79 on April 19, 2019, 03:10:22 PM
If trying to install mlat-client im getting the following:

Some packages could not be installed. That may mean that
You have requested an impossible situation or if you have the
Unstable distribution still use some required packages
have not been created or have not yet left Incoming.
The following information may help you to resolve the situation:

The following packages have unmet dependencies:
  mlat-client: Depends on: python3 (> = 3.5 ~) but 3.4.2-2 should be installed
                Depends on: python3.5: any is not installable
E: Problems can not be corrected, you have retained defective packages.

Ingo
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: wiedehopf on April 19, 2019, 03:54:20 PM
Run
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get upgrade

If that doesn't help you might be on Raspbian Jessie and need an upgrade to Stretch.

Depending on which sd-card image you started from that isn't too hard.
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: flygpagen on April 19, 2019, 05:50:55 PM
Hello there,

I put up a new antenna on the roof today, and then went and enabled MLAT on my Pi according to the instructions above. However I suspect that something is wrong, seeing that the coverage has expanded all the way to GB (the antenna is no way that good). Also MLAT does not show on the station as your examples in this thread.
https://www.radarbox24.com/stations/EXTRPI001593

Will return to the field and do some error probing but ideas are welcome...
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: Runway 31 on April 19, 2019, 06:35:41 PM
It looks like the feeder is updated correctly as you are showing the correct firmware version.  However now edit your location with the exact lat/lon in decimal then save.  Once that's done you should show MLAT active,

The spurious coverage shown over to the UK will wear off over the next week so I wouldn't bother with it

Alan
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: abcd567 on April 19, 2019, 11:41:22 PM
If trying to install mlat-client im getting the following:

Please post output of following command
Code: [Select]
cat /etc/os-release
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: wiedehopf on April 20, 2019, 12:09:08 AM
However I suspect that something is wrong, seeing that the coverage has expanded all the way to GB (the antenna is no way that good).

Something is indeed wrong, somehow the positions of aircraft above you are displayed way to the west.

I really have no clue how that could be happening.
Can you provide a screenshot of your local map, does it look like this as well?

Just in case you didn't already, do a reboot.
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: neroon79 on April 20, 2019, 05:55:26 AM
Run
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get upgrade

If that doesn't help you might be on Raspbian Jessie and need an upgrade to Stretch.

Depending on which sd-card image you started from that isn't too hard.
I just wanted you to know:

I waited as long as I could to do the Jessie -> Stretch migration due to the rule "never touch a running/working system". Anyway, migration worked without any severe impact or problem. After the migration the install mlat-client was of course working without any problem.

Thanks Ingo
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: wiedehopf on April 20, 2019, 07:49:16 AM
Will return to the field and do some error probing but ideas are welcome...

Can you check if lat and lon are correct in /etc/rbfeeder.ini?

sudo nano /etc/rbfeeder.ini

Fix them :)
(Press Ctrl-O and enter to save, then Ctrl-X to exit)

(That's about the only possibility i can imagine.)
I checked locally, putting in a position about 10 longitude to the west of your own position produces bogus positions.

After fixing the location you also need to stop rbfeeder or switch off the RPi for a couple of minutes, otherwise the feeder continues to be confused.
Using receiver local CPR is really a bad idea for feeding, just in case a developer is reading here :)

Stopping rbfeeder:

sudo systemctl stop rbfeeder

starting it again after a couple of minutes:

sudo systemctl restart rbfeeder
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: flygpagen on April 20, 2019, 10:12:38 AM
The station is at my airfield, I live appr. 25 kilometers away... Will install VNC server so that it will hopefully be easier to manage. :)

Anyway, I have updated the rbfeeder.ini with the following;
lat=56.131217 (was 56.131200)
long=13.879246 (was 13.879200)
That is the position I get when positioning using the radarbox webpage map localizer. Now powered Pi of, see if this helps. I have been trying to use the radarbox localization tool but it usually gives me this error;

We couldn't get your location!
Please ensure you have inserted decimal degrees or contact us at [email protected] to manually update



Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: wiedehopf on April 20, 2019, 10:17:15 AM
The rbfeeder.ini needs this:

lon=13.879246

long has an extra g in your version!
But the abbreviation for the config is lon not long.

(this could have resulted in the program using 0 as longitude/lon which looks exactly like your problem)
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: flygpagen on April 20, 2019, 10:25:36 AM
Well... I blush. Thank you for seeing this error! Corrected & restarted!
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: wiedehopf on April 20, 2019, 10:30:49 AM
Thank you for seeing this error! Corrected & restarted!

Good that you put it in your post, otherwise i would have been out of luck.

Anyway long is a perfectly valid abbreviation, just not the one commonly used it seems :)

Your station looks better already!
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: Runway 31 on April 20, 2019, 11:46:11 AM
Well done

Alan
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: glennblum on May 21, 2019, 10:49:06 PM
Got it installed. Thanks. No MLAT synched as of right now but I don't know how much coverage RB24 has in Texas.
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: Runway 31 on May 22, 2019, 08:26:51 AM
I think at this stage the issue may well be that the majority of users are not set up for MALT yet

Alan
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: abcd567 on May 22, 2019, 11:52:50 PM
....the majority of users are not set up for MALT yet

... because majority of users do NOT know that they can enable malat. :)
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: Runway 31 on May 23, 2019, 09:11:30 AM
I have been waiting on a email going out to users to advise.  A new firmware to enable for x-range units is due out by the weekend, maybe after it is out they will broadcast

Alan
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: SoNic67 on June 02, 2019, 02:44:09 PM
I think at this stage the issue may well be that the majority of users are not set up for MALT yet

Alan
Yeah, I found out only by accident, looking at my feed webpage, it was saying "MLAT not enabled" and had instructions how to enable it.
Now I am synced with 5 receivers.

For comparation, on the FlightAware side I am "synchronized with 185 nearby receivers".
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: Aerotower on June 02, 2019, 02:58:53 PM
I think at this stage the issue may well be that the majority of users are not set up for MALT yet

Alan
Yeah, I found out only by accident, looking at my feed webpage, it was saying "MLAT not enabled" and had instructions how to enable it.
Now I am synced with 5 receivers.

For comparation, on the FlightAware side I am "synchronized with 185 nearby receivers".

Hi, What is your feeder "alias"?

Thanks
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: abcd567 on July 02, 2019, 03:16:14 AM
Today I wrote latest Raspbian image (Buster) to microSD card and installed rbfeeder.
All went ok and the feeder is working fine.

However when I tried to install mlat-client by following command, it failed:

Code: [Select]
[email protected]:~ $ sudo apt-get install mlat-client

Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
Some packages could not be installed. This may mean that you have
requested an impossible situation or if you are using the unstable
distribution that some required packages have not yet been created
or been moved out of Incoming.
The following information may help to resolve the situation:

The following packages have unmet dependencies:
 mlat-client : Depends: python3 (< 3.6) but 3.7.3-1 is to be installed
E: Unable to correct problems, you have held broken packages.


I solved this problem by building the mlat-client package from source code as follows:

Code: [Select]
## Installed required packages (dependencies and build tools)
sudo apt update -y
sudo apt-get install -y git curl build-essential debhelper python-dev python3-dev

## Downloaded source code
cd /home/pi/
git clone https://github.com/mutability/mlat-client.git

## Built mlat-client's installation package
cd /home/pi/mlat-client
sudo dpkg-buildpackage -b -uc

## Above command took some time to build package
## After the package was built, installed it by following command
cd /home/pi/
sudo dpkg -i mlat-client_*.deb




ALTERNATE to building mlat-client from source code as above, you can now install pre-built package available at my Github site. Please see this post for details:

https://forum.radarbox24.com/index.php?topic=101771.msg433591#msg433591


.
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: whome82 on July 02, 2019, 10:29:39 PM
I too have had the same problem however tried running the code as provided and now get the following error-

error: cannot access archive 'mlat-client_*.deb': no such file or directory.

Any ideas? thanks
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: abcd567 on July 03, 2019, 01:34:04 AM
I too have had the same problem however tried running the code as provided and now get the following error-

error: cannot access archive 'mlat-client_*.deb': no such file or directory.

Any ideas? thanks

Sorry, there was a mistake in the second last line.
It was wrongly written "cd /home/pi/mlat-client".
The correct command is "cd /home/pi/"

The last two commands should be like below. I have now corrected it in my original post also
Code: [Select]
cd /home/pi/
sudo dpkg -i mlat-client_*.deb
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: whome82 on July 03, 2019, 05:30:58 PM
Thank you, Perfect now working with MLAT on my Pi also!

Great stuff
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: kan84 on July 16, 2019, 06:15:46 PM
Thanks was able to get MLAT issue resolved for both my feeders. I had autostart_mlat set as true but that did not help, I had to put in the coordinates in the ini file for it to work.
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: Runway 31 on July 16, 2019, 06:19:08 PM
That's correct, Pi's require the lat/lon to be set for MLAT

Alan
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: anirbansen on November 28, 2019, 07:31:10 AM
In my new installation with Buster, I faced the same problem and recreated "mlat-client_0.2.10_armhf.deb". After I ran dpkg -i, I copied the fa-mlat-client to /usr/bin and radarbox24 feeder picked it up and started MLAT.  I then removed the packages  build-essential debhelper python-dev python3-dev and the mlat-client folder.

But sudo apt-get update is again displaying the error:
The following packages have unmet dependencies:
 mlat-client : Depends: python3 (< 3.6) but 3.7.3-1 is to be installed
E: Unable to correct problems, you have held broken packages.


The above packages have several dependencies which I did not want to keep in the system.  I have kept git and curl though.

Its worth mentioning that mlat-client_0.2.10_armhf.deb package is also there under /home/pi/adsb-exchange and the sub folder adsb-exchange also contains another folder "mlat-client" but which may be a different version as judged by file size of fa-mlat-client:
1) /user/bin/fa-mlat-client * 2147bytes
2) /home/pi/adsb-exchange/mlat-client/fa-mlat-client * 2149 bytes
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: wiedehopf on December 01, 2019, 02:23:37 PM
You need python3 for mlat.

Just install it with apt install.
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: Nigelrich on February 25, 2020, 07:54:35 PM
I've tried this build for the MLAT client but still inactive. I'm running Buster Lite and dump1090-fa

Any suggestions of what else I could try?

Thanks
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: abcd567 on February 25, 2020, 10:07:16 PM
(1) Have you added your latitude, longitude and altitude (lat, lon, alt) in settings?
Please see STEP-2 (or Alternate to STEP-2) in this post:

https://forum.radarbox24.com/index.php?topic=101771.msg389571#msg389571

(2) To make sure mlat-client is installed and working ok, post output of these two commands

Code: [Select]
apt-cache policy mlat-client

sudo systemctl status mlat-client

.
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: Nigelrich on February 25, 2020, 10:50:09 PM
Yes, all the site details are input.

This is what I get from the two commands you requested:

[email protected]:~ $ apt-cache policy mlat-client
mlat-client:
  Installed: 0.2.11
  Candidate: 0.2.11
  Version table:
 *** 0.2.11 100
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status

[email protected]:~ $ sudo systemctl status mlat-client
● mlat-client.service - LSB: Multilateration client
   Loaded: loaded (/etc/init.d/mlat-client; generated)
   Active: active (exited) since Tue 2020-02-25 19:44:49 GMT; 3h 1min ago
     Docs: man:systemd-sysv-generator(8)
  Process: 320 ExecStart=/etc/init.d/mlat-client start (code=exited, status=0/SUCCESS)

Feb 25 19:44:48 raspberrypi systemd[1]: Starting LSB: Multilateration client...
Feb 25 19:44:49 raspberrypi mlat-client[320]: Not starting mlat-client daemon, disabled via /etc/default/mlat-client ... (warning).
Feb 25 19:44:49 raspberrypi systemd[1]: Started LSB: Multilateration client.

Thanks
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: Nigelrich on February 25, 2020, 10:56:32 PM
After inputting those two commands that you suggested, it appears to be working now

Have they triggered it into action?

Many thanks
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: abcd567 on February 25, 2020, 11:34:33 PM
After inputting those two commands that you suggested, it appears to be working now

Have they triggered it into action?

Many thanks

When you go to following page, do you see "Mlat active (xx stations synced)", as shown in screenshot below.

http://www.radarbox24.com/stations/EXTRPIxxxxxx
(Replace xxxxxx by your station number)

Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: Nigelrich on February 26, 2020, 12:57:52 AM
Yes I do. I did exactly the same re-build on another Pi and didn't have any problems, which puzzled me why one didn't work and another did. Anyway they are sorted now.

Many thanks for your help
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: abcd567 on February 26, 2020, 01:27:16 AM
As an interim measure, I have built two mlat-client packages, one for Raspbian STRETCH and other for Raspbian BUSTER, and uploaded to my Github site.

These can be easily installed by following commands:

To install on RPi with Raspbian BUSTER:
Code: [Select]
## Download mlat-client package for BUSTER
wget https://github.com/abcd567a/mlat-client-package/releases/download/v1/mlat-client_0.2.11_BUSTER_armhf.deb   

## Install downloaded package
sudo dpkg -i mlat-client_0.2.11_BUSTER_armhf.deb   


To install on RPi with Raspbian STRETCH
Code: [Select]
## Download mlat-client package for STRETCH
wget https://github.com/abcd567a/mlat-client-package/releases/download/v1/mlat-client_0.2.11_STRETCH_armhf.deb 

## Install downloaded package
sudo dpkg -i mlat-client_0.2.11_STRETCH_armhf.deb 


If you are not sure your Raspbian is Stretch or Buster, issue this command to find out
Code: [Select]
lsb_release -sc


Instructions here:

https://github.com/abcd567a/mlat-client-package/blob/master/README.md


.
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: ddolbel on April 30, 2020, 04:06:40 AM
Hi Everyone,

apologies in advance incase this has been asked several times before,
I have searched this forum but can't seem to find an answer

I have a feeder currently running piaware and I have just installed Radarbox
all in all the installation went well no errors YAY

however I don't seem to be getting any mlat results on the Radarbox site where as i am on the piware site..

I have seen some mention on the forum of installation of a mlat client for radar box, do i still need to do that even know i already have piaware installed ?

Thank you once again for your time and effort looking forward to your reply
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: Runway 31 on April 30, 2020, 07:25:02 AM
I don't know anything regarding Pi's but I would think that the MLAT client is specific to each provider i.e Radarbox, Flightaware etc and each will need their own client as the data will not be shared between providers.  Hopefully someone can advise if this is correct

For MLAT to work however you need to edit your location with your exact lat/lon and suggest that if you have not already done so to do this as a first step.  Use Edit next to your location  on the status grid top left of the MyStation screen

Alan
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: abcd567 on April 30, 2020, 08:26:06 AM
@ddolbel:

(A) To enable mlat, you have t do following TWO things:
(1) Install mlat-client
(2) Enter your latitude, longitude and elevation above sea level.

Please see this post for details:
https://forum.radarbox24.com/index.php?topic=101771.msg389571#msg389571


(B) To see mlat results plane on dump1090-fa (SkyView) map:


Code: [Select]
sudo nano /etc/rbfeeder.ini

Edit this line:

Original Line:
#mlat_cmd=/usr/bin/python3.5 /usr/bin/mlat-client

After Editing:
Note: Dont forget to remove # at start of the original line

For Raspbian Stretch:
mlat_cmd=/usr/bin/python3.5 /usr/bin/mlat-client --results beast,listen,30104

For Raspbian Buster:
mlat_cmd=/usr/bin/python3.7 /usr/bin/mlat-client --results beast,listen,30104

If you are not sure your Raspbian is Stretch or Buster, issue this command to find out

Code: [Select]
lsb_release -sc


Contents of file /etc/rbfeeder.ini

Quote

[client]
network_mode=true
log_file=/var/log/rbfeeder.log

key=xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

sn=EXTRPI00xxxx

lat=xx.xxxx
lon=yy.yyyy
alt=zzz

sat_used=0
sat_visible=0

[network]
mode=beast
external_port=30005
external_host=127.0.0.1

[mlat]
autostart_mlat=true
mlat_cmd=/usr/bin/python3.7 /usr/bin/mlat-client --results beast,listen,30104

[dump978]
#dump978_enabled=true



Code: [Select]
sudo systemctl restart rbfeeder


.
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: ddolbel on April 30, 2020, 09:02:57 AM
@abcd567

Thank you for the update....

ok just to reconfirm my piaware is working and mlat is being reported for piaware..

what i'm checking is that do i need to install another mlat-updater just for radarbox?
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: abcd567 on April 30, 2020, 03:24:15 PM
@ddolbel:

From user's point of view, enabling mlat on one site is enough, but enabling mlat on more than one site does not hurt. It however benefits the sites for which mlat is enabled


The FlightAware mlat:
(1) The mlat calculations are done at FlightAware servers.
(2) Used by flightaware on the map served by Flightaware server.
(3) Fed back to the feeder'Pi and by default displayed on SkyView map. User does mot have to make any configuration for this.

The RadarBox24 mlat:
(1) The mlat calculations are done a Radarbox24 servers.
(2) Used by flightaware on the map served by Radarbox server.
(3) Results are fed back to the feeder's Pi and can be displayed on SkyView or VRS. However unlike Flightaware mlat, this is not by default and user has to modify config as I have shown in my above post.

The FlightRadar24 mlat:
(1) The mlat calculations are done a FlightRadar24 servers.
(2) Used by flightaware on the map served by Radarbox server.
(3) Results are NOT fed back to the feeder's Pi



.
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: ddolbel on April 30, 2020, 08:55:48 PM
@abcd567

thank you for your response

I have just tried to install the mlat-client however unable to locate the package

Code: [Select]

[email protected]:~$ sudo apt-get install mlat-client
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
E: Unable to locate package mlat-client

Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: abcd567 on April 30, 2020, 09:21:46 PM
@abcd567
I have just tried to install the mlat-client however unable to locate the package

This means you missed to read the NOTE in my first post and did not go to link given in my first post.
Below is the quote from my first post, which contains the link. Please visit it and follow instructions there:

NOTE:
Above method to install mlat-client may fail for Raspbian Buster. If this happens, then use method given in the following post:
https://www.airnavsystems.com/forum/index.php?topic=101771.msg407051#msg407051


.
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: ddolbel on April 30, 2020, 09:24:49 PM
sorry i missed that, will give it a go

ps the piaware image is running jessie

i don't have python 3.5 installed only 3.4

i changed mlat in the rbfeeder.ini
mlat_cmd=/usr/bin/python3.4 /usr/bin/mlat-client --results beast,listen,30104

Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: abcd567 on May 01, 2020, 02:56:57 AM
Jessie is too old. You will start facing lot of compatibality and upgrade problems soon.

Better format microSD card and write latest piaware image ver 3.8.1, which is Buster, then install rbfeeder and mlat-client.
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: ddolbel on May 01, 2020, 03:01:15 AM
I have ordered a new pi 4b will hang off till it arrives..

Thanks for your time and effort.
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: MrNobody on May 13, 2020, 09:18:47 PM
Hello Everybody,

Since re-installing my pi from jessie to buster, I also encounter problems with mlat-client.
I have installed dump1090-mutability and feed five sites, on most of them MLAT is working fine. I now installed the compiled version from @abcd567 using this hint: https://forum.radarbox24.com/index.php?topic=101771.msg433591#msg433591 (https://forum.radarbox24.com/index.php?topic=101771.msg433591#msg433591)
but mlat-client does not work.
using
Code: [Select]
sudo systemctl status mlat-client, the result is :

● mlat-client.service - LSB: Multilateration client
   Loaded: loaded (/etc/init.d/mlat-client; generated)
   Active: active (exited) since Tue 2020-05-12 21:33:37 CEST; 1 day 1h ago
     Docs: man:systemd-sysv-generator(8)
  Process: 292 ExecStart=/etc/init.d/mlat-client start (code=exited, status=0/SUCCESS)

Mai 12 21:33:37 myPiADSB systemd[1]: Starting LSB: Multilateration client...
Mai 12 21:33:37 myPiADSB mlat-client[292]: Not starting mlat-client daemon, disabled via /etc/default/mlat-client ...
Mai 12 21:33:37 myPiADSB systemd[1]: Started LSB: Multilateration client.



What could be the reason therefore? The Radarbox Site says no MLAT active...
Thank you in advance.
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: abcd567 on May 14, 2020, 12:17:54 AM
There are two things required to be done:
(1) Install mlat-client, which you have done
(2) Set your latitude, longitude and antenna elevation. Did you do it? If not it can be done in any one of the two ways:
(a) Add these in file /etc/rbfeeder.ini
OR
(b) Go to your RB24 map on internet and add it there.

Both the above methods are described in STEP-2 of this post:
https://forum.radarbox24.com/index.php?topic=101771.msg389571#msg389571

Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: MrNobody on May 14, 2020, 06:37:33 PM
Thank you for the very quick answer.
I had written these lines to the rbfeeder.ini, but there was a mistyping: I wrote 1at=xx.xxxxxx instead of lat=xx.xxxxxx but I didn't recognize this difference in the terminal view.
Thank you very much, problem is solved, MLAT is working fine now :-)
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: abcd567 on May 14, 2020, 07:55:24 PM
1at instead of lat :(
Copy-paste from post (instead of typing) avoids typing mistakes.
Glad to know you could spot the typo, and now your system is up and running :)
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: Kirill on May 18, 2020, 04:37:40 PM
Hello. I need some help with MLAT.
I use consol version dump1090 under win10 x64
I feed to RB24 from Data Sharer 1.20 win10 x64
I want feed MLAT
I feed to 12 serves from my VRS, and to FR and FA from ubuntu under hyper-V win10 x64 support/
Mlat work on FA, how feed Mlat to RB?
Mlat client in my ubuntu install and work by command:
mlat-client --input-type dump1090 --input-connect localhost:30005 --lat 52.35957 --lon 31.02599 --alt 126.1 --user UMGG --server feed.adsbexchange.com:31090 --no-udp --results beast,connect,localhost:30005
Maybe i can use second command mlat client.
Kirill EXTSHA193428 UMGG
 
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: Runway 31 on May 18, 2020, 04:59:36 PM
Kirill
Try by clicking on Edit next to your location on the right of your MyStation map and enter your exact decimal lat/lot.  This may not work using the data sharer software though and you may need to use the Pi method as detailed by abcd567

Alan
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: abcd567 on May 19, 2020, 12:26:50 PM
Like Adsbexchange, Radarbox24 also uses mlat-client, but control & configuration is through its feeder. The only version of RadarBox24 feeder which is mlat capable is the RPi (armv7) version. It wont work on Ubuntu x64.

As the source code is now available, you may try to build Ubuntu version of rbfeeder from source code. Please see this thread:

rbfeeder for x86_64 or i386 (https://forum.radarbox24.com/index.php?topic=102921.0)
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: Kirill on May 19, 2020, 08:12:25 PM
Thank! I am ready to run on ubuntu, but I do not know Linux at all and do not know how to collect packages. Maybe you can collect for me?
Title: Re: MLAT
Post by: abcd567 on May 19, 2020, 10:41:14 PM
Kirill:
Sorry, I tried, but could not succeed.
Some info needed to compile installation package, but the info is not made public by Radarbox24 software developers.